April 24, 2024

Caruana, Lee, Tokhirjonova Start With Double Wins

Day one of the 2024 American Cup saw a whopping 13 decisive games across the Open and Women’s tournaments in St. Louis on Tuesday.

GM Fabiano Caruana got off to a 2-0 start against GM Grigoriy Oparin, while GM Wesley So is the only other player to lead in the Open section, 1.5-0.5 against GM Sam Shankland.

In the Women’s, all eight games were decisive (!), with IM Alice Lee and WGM Gulrukhbegim Tokhirjonova taking 2-0 leads against, respectively, WGM Tatev Abrahamyan and FM Jennifer Yu.

Each quarterfinal match will conclude after two more games on day two with possible tiebreaks. They take place on Wednesday, March 13, 2024, at 2 p.m. ET/19:00 CET/11:30 p.m. IST.

Mehr …