Mai 27, 2024

Abdusattorov Wins Prague Masters With Round To Spare As New World Number 4

Nodirbek Abdusattorov. Photo: Anezka Kruzikova/Prague Chess Festival.

The Prague Masters has become a dream tournament for GM Nodirbek Abdusattorov. In a field with three candidates, the 19-year-old Uzbek GM secured victory with a round to spare today while moving to world number four in the live ratings, surpassing World Champion Ding Liren.

Abdusattorov today defeated GM Parham Maghsoodloo in another tremendous fighting game not unlike their previous clash in Wijk aan Zee this year. The other winner in the round was GM Gukesh Dommaraju, who refuted dubious early middlegame play by GM Vincent Keymer.

GM Vidit Gujrathi vs. GM Richard Rapport, GM Mateusz Bartel vs. GM Praggnanandhaa Rameshbabu, and GM David Navara vs. GM Thai Dai Van Nguyen all ended in draws.

The final round starts four hours earlier than usual, on Thursday at 5 a.m. ET / 11:00 CET / 3:30 p.m. IST.

Mehr …