Mai 18, 2024

Vachier-Lagrave Wins Division II, Andreikin Takes Division III

GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave won Division II of the Champions Chess Tour Chess.com Classic 2024, earning $15,000, 50 tour points, and automatic entry into Division I of the next event. Although GM Wesley So won on demand to reach the match reset, the Frenchman with three names played a vintage attacking game in the Grunfeld Defense to retrieve match victory.

GM Dmitry Andreikin won Division III without losing a single match in the weeklong event. GM Nils Grandelius won on demand in the final game to force armageddon tiebreaks, but Andreikin won with the white pieces to avoid the match reset. Andreikin pockets $7,500 and 30 tour points.

That leaves just the Grand Final in Division I, where GM Alireza Firouzja will face GM Magnus Carlsen in their second CCT Grand Final this year. That will be on Wednesday, May 15, starting at 12:30 p.m. ET / 18:30 CEST / 10 p.m. IST.

Mehr   .