April 24, 2024

Aronian Wins 2024 American Cup Without Losing A Single Game

GM Levon Aronian won his maiden title at the 2024 American Cup on Wednesday. Continuing to play in this tournament what he calls „adventurous chess,“ he defeated GM Wesley So only in the final rapid game—and with the black pieces.

The Women’s tournament continues on Thursday, as IM Alice Lee extinguished one of GM Irina Krush’s two lives. The 14-year-old won the classical game to clinch the first match with a game to spare.

The American Cup Grand Final concludes on Thursday, March 21, 2024, at 2:20 p.m. ET/19:20 CET/11:50 p.m. IST.

Mehr …