Juli 21, 2024

Firouzja Beats So; Joins Gukesh, Praggnanandhaa In 2nd Place

Alireza Firoujza kept chances of winning the tournament alive. Photo: Lennart Ootes/Grand Chess Tour.

A powerful victory against GM Wesley So brought GM Alireza Firouzja into joined second place at the Superbet Chess Classic Romania, which resumed on Tuesday following a rest day. After the sixth round, GM Fabiano Caruana continues to lead by half a point as he drew with GM Ian Nepomniachtchi.

The games GM Praggnanandhaa Rameshbabu vs. GM Bogdan-Daniel Deac, GM Nodirbek Abdusattorov vs. GMs Anish Giri and GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave vs. GM Gukesh Dommaraju also ended in draws.

Round seven starts Wednesday, July 3, at 8 a.m. ET / 14:00 CEST / 17:30 p.m. IST.

Superbet Chess Classic Romania Round 6 Results