Juli 21, 2024

Caruana Misses Chance To Increase Lead In Bucharest

Caruana was close to winning against Gukesh today. Photo: Lennart Ootes/Grand Chess Tour.

It was in serious mutual time trouble, but GM Fabiano Caruana did miss a chance to get at least very close to winning his third game at the Superbet Chess Classic Romania today, against GM Gukesh Dommaraju. The other American GM Wesley So had GM Nodirbek Abdusattorov on the ropes but also failed to convert in what was a truly wild affair.

The games GMs Anish Giri vs. GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, GM Ian Nepomniachtchi vs. GM Praggnanandhaa Rameshbabu, and GM Bogdan-Daniel Deac vs. GM Alireza Firouzja also ended in draws.

Round eight starts Thursday, July 4, at 8 a.m. ET / 14:00 CEST / 17:30 p.m. IST.

Superbet Chess Classic Romania Round 7 Results
Superbet Chess Classic Romania 2024 Round 7 Results