Juli 24, 2024

Lee Miraculously Saves Game After 5-Hour Marathon

IM Alice Lee defended like a lion 24 hours after taking down GM Alexandra Kosteniuk. Photo: Lennart Ootes/Saint Louis Chess Club.

14-year-old IM Alice Lee is the talk of the town at the Cairns Cup 2024 after tricking GM Nana Dzagnidze into a drawn ending when all seemed lost. GMs Irina Krush, Mariya Muzychuk, and IM Anna Zatonskih all missed golden opportunities to win their respective games while GM Tan Zhongyi managed to hold onto her lead after drawing with GM Anna Muzychuk.

Each of the five games ended in draws, but as IM Jovanka Houska aptly quipped: „The round was not without adventure.“

Following a rest day, round six will start on Wednesday, June 19, at 2 p.m. ET / 20:00 CEST / 11:30 p.m. IST and will feature a blockbuster clash between U.S. compatriots and generational rivals Lee and Krush.

Round 5 Results