Juli 24, 2024

Kosteniuk Records Fifth Decisive Result, Moves Into Second

Kosteniuk has won three games, drawn one, and lost two. Photo: Lennart Ootes/Saint Louis Chess Club.

GM Alexandra Kosteniuk has continued her run of decisive results at the Cairns Cup 2024 with a win over GM Mariya Muzychuk and now moves to 3.5/6, half a point behind the sole leader GM Tan Zhongyi.

Draws on the remaining boards occurred with minimal drama except for the clash between IM Alice Lee and Irina Krush, where the 14-year-old tried to crack her compatriots defenses for more than five hours.

Round seven will start on Thursday, June 20, at 2 p.m. ET / 20:00 CEST / 11:30 p.m. IST.

Round 6 Results