Juli 24, 2024

Tan Zhongyi Sole Leader After Quick Victory

Tan Zhongyi scored a quick victory to move into the sole lead with 3/4. Photo: Lennart Ootes/Saint Louis Chess Club.

Former Women’s World Champion GM Tan Zhongyi scored a quick 20-move victory over defending champion IM Anna Zatonskih to move into the sole lead with three points after four rounds at the Cairns Cup 2024 in St. Louis. Tan is trailed by GMs Mariya Muzychuk and Harika Dronavalli on 2.5 points.

GM Nana Dzagnidze missed an opportunity to reach 2.5 points when she could not convert a huge advantage in the ending against GM Anna Muzychuk. Both the Muzychuk sisters seemed to be on the brink of defeat but put up strong fights to salvage draws in their respective games.

It was an exciting day for Young IM Alice Lee as she defeated another former Women’s World Champion GM Alexandra Kosteniuk to record the first American victory of the tournament. The entertaining Game Of The Day saw Lee fight back despite time pressure after seemingly getting caught in opening preparation in a sharp line.

Round five starts Monday, June 17, at 2 p.m. ET / 20:00 CEST / 11:30 p.m. IST.
Round 4 Results