Juli 21, 2024

Caruana Keeps Slim Lead Ahead Of Final Round

Caruana still leads by half a point with one round to go. Photo: Lennart Ootes/Grand Chess Tour.

A fourth day full of draws means that GM Fabiano Caruana, who played GM Praggnanandhaa Rameshbabu today, goes into the final round of the Superbet Chess Classic Romania with a half-point lead. The longest game of the round, between GM Nodirbek Abdusattorov and GM Bogdan-Daniel Deac, lasted almost six hours.

The other draws occurred in GM Alireza Firouzja vs. GM Ian Nepomniachtchi, GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave vs. GM Wesley So, and GM Gukesh Dommaraju vs. GM Anish Giri.

The final round starts Friday, July 5, at 8 a.m. ET / 14:00 CEST / 17:30 p.m. IST.

Superbet Chess Classic Romania Round 8 Results