Juli 21, 2024

Anna Muzychuk With Black Beats Kosteniuk, Joins Five-Way Tie For Second

Don’t count Anna Muzychuk out yet! A timely win has given her a chance of finishing equal first. Photo: Lennart Ootes/Saint Louis Chess Club.

GM Anna Muzychuk and IM Alice Lee both won their respective games against GM Alexandra Kosteniuk and IM Anna Zatonskih respectively at the Cairns Cup 2024 on Friday. For Muzychuk, this means she is now one point shy of leader GM Tan Zhongyi heading into the final round.

Joining Muzychuk on 4.5/8 are four other players: Kosteniuk, who the others rely on to topple Tan in the final round, plus GMs Harika Dronavalli, Mariya Muzychuk, and Nana Dzagnidze. If results go Kosteniuk’s way, the Cairns Cup could see a five-way tie for first place and a playoff would be required.

Round nine starts on Saturday, June 22, at 2 p.m. ET / 20:00 CEST / 11:30 p.m. IST.

Round 8 Results