Juli 21, 2024

Chaos Reigns As Tan, Kosteniuk, Muzychuk, Dzagnidze Win

Tan has been unstoppable at the Cairns Cup and has scored 5/7 so far. Photo: Crystal Fuller/Saint Louis Chess Club.

Four decisive results shook up the standings at the Cairns Cup 2024 and, with two rounds to go, five players are still in the hunt for the $50,000 first prize. GM Tan Zhongyi leads the event on 5/7 after defeating GM Elisabeth Paehtz while chaos agent GM Alexandra Kosteniuk snatched another win from the jaws of defeat to move into clear second on 4.5/7.

GMs Mariya Muzychuk and Nana Dzagnidze also scored wins over IM Alice Lee and GM Irina Krush respectively, giving themselves a shot to chase down Tan and Kosteniuk.

Round eight will start on Friday, June 21, at 2 p.m. ET / 20:00 CEST / 11:30 p.m. IST.

Round 7 Results