Juli 24, 2024

Caruana Sole Leader, Back To World #2 After Beating Deac

Caruana also got back to a 2800+ rating on Saturday. Photo: Lennart Ootes/Grand Chess Tour.

The fourth round of the Superbet Chess Classic Romania was a good day for GM Fabiano Caruana. The 31-year-old American grandmaster is back to being the number two in the world with a 2800+ rating after beating GM Bogdan-Daniel Deac. GM Praggnanandhaa Rameshbabu defeated GM Anish Giri and joined GM Gukesh Dommaraju in second place.

The games GM Ian Nepomniachtchi vs. GM Wesley So, GM Nodirbek Abdusattorov vs. GM Maxime Vachier-Lagrave, and GM Alireza Firouzja vs. Gukesh ended in draws.

Round four starts Sunday, June 30, at 8 a.m. ET / 14:00 CEST / 17:30 p.m. IST.

Superbet Chess Classic Romania Round 4 Results