Juli 24, 2024

Kosteniuk Topples Dzagdnize, Joins Leaders

Kosteniuk has scored two wins and conceded one loss. Photo: Lennart Ootes/Saint Louis Chess Club.

GM Alexandra Kosteniuk has joined the leaders on 2/3 at the Cairns Cup 2024 following a fine victory over Georgia’s GM Nana Dzagnidze in round three while the tournament’s other leaders; GMs Harika Dronavalli, Mariya Muzychuk, and Tan Zhongyi drew their games.

GM Elisabeth Paehtz pressed with Black against GM Irina Krush but the veteran weathered time trouble and swapped into an opposite-colored bishop endgame to secure her third draw.

Round three starts Sunday, June 16, at 2 p.m. ET / 20:00 CEST / 11:30 p.m. IST.

Round 3 Results