Juli 24, 2024

Harika Forgoes Castling In Victory Over ‚Chess Queen‘ Kosteniuk

Hakira surged to 1.5/2 when she defeated Kosteniuk. Photo: Lennart Ootes/Saint Louis Chess Club.

Four players—GMs Nana Dzagnidze, Harika Dronavalli, Mariya Muzychuk, and Tan Zhongyi—sit atop the standings on 1.5/2 at the Cairns Cup 2024 after Dzagnidze and Harika won their respective games against IM Anna Zatonskih and GM Alexandra Kosteniuk.

GM Irina Krush came close to winning against Tan but fell short in time trouble while GM Elisabeth Paehtz and IM Alice Lee both missed opportunities in a rollercoaster encounter.

Round three starts Saturday, June 15, at 2 p.m. ET / 20:00 CEST / 11:30 p.m. IST.

Round 2 Results